The below map is the international internet project of registering Jewish heritage and Holocaust sites in Central Europe. The map is being updated few times a year based on the most recent research. Once you are interested in adding some site into any of the categories please contact us.

If you are interested in any particular region please zoom in to see all the interesting markers. Once you click on a marker information about the place with be displayed.

If you have problems with locating some places or region please use the search engine in the map corner or Google Maps. Those tools will help you also to estimate distances and build itineraries.

MAP MARKERS for Jewish heritage and Holocaust sites

 - Jewish heritage and history sites with additional information about Jewish objects left and Jewish population.

 - Major Jewish heritage and history sites with links to their descriptions at

 - Historical , cultural or natural sites worth visiting.

 - Holocaust related sites with their descriptions.

 - Major German Nazi Concentration and Extermination camps in Europe.  Establishment and liberation date. Estimated number of victims.



Territory: 312,68 km²
Population: 38,136 000
Land boundaries: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Russia (Kaliningrad District)
Major towns: Warsaw (capital - 1 706 624 inhabitants), Cracow (756 583 inhabitants), Lodz (753 192 inhabitants), Wroclaw (632 930 inhabitants), Poznan (560 932 inhabitants), Gdansk (455 717 inhabitants), Szczecin (407 811 inhabitants), Bydgoszcz (361 222 inhabitants), Lublin (351 806 inhabitants), Katowice (312 201 inhabitants)
Language: Polish (official)
Time: 1 hour ahead of GMT
Currency: Zloty (PLN)
Religions: Roman Catholic (90%), Eastern Orthodox, Protestant and other (5%)
Ethnicities: Poles (95,63%), Silesia (0,45%), Germans (0,40%), Belarusians (0,13%), Ukrainians (0,08%), Roma (0,03%), Russians, Lemko, Lithuanians, Jews
Government type: Parliamentary democracy
President: Andrzej Duda
EU entry date: 1st May 2004
Public holidays: 1st January (New Year's Day), Easter Monday, 1st May (Labour Day), 3rd May (Polish National Day, Proclamation of 1791 Constitution), Corpus Christi, Assumption, 1st November (All Saints' Day), 11th November (Independence Day), 24th-26th December (Christmas)
Visa: Citizens of the following countries are not required to be in possession of a visa when entering Poland for less than 90 days: Australia, Canada, EU Member States, USA. 
Moreover: Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Bolivia, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Brasil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Island, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, Vatican, Venezuela.